Sugauli is a city and a notified area in East Champaran district in the Indian state of Bihar. It is the setting for Rudyard Kipling's story "Rikki-Tikki-Tavi" and the place where a treaty was signed with Nepal in 1816. 

As of 2011 India Sugauli town had a population of 38,815. Sugauli is a Nagar Panchayat city in district of Purvi Champaran, Bihar. The Sugauli city is divided into 20 wards for which elections are held every 5 years. The Sugauli Nagar Panchayat has population of 38,815 of which 20,584 are males while 18,231 are females as per report released by Census India 2011. Population of Children with age of 0-6 is 7810 which is 20.12% of total population of Sugauli (NP). In Sugauli Nagar Panchayat, Female Sex Ratio is of 886 against state average of 918. Moreover, Child Sex Ratio in Sugauli is around 937 compared to Bihar state average of 935. Literacy rate of Sugauli city is 64.90% higher than state average of 61.80%. In Sugauli, Male literacy is around 73.45% while female literacy rate is 55.10%. Sugauli Nagar Panchayat has total administration over 7,480 houses to which it supplies basic amenities like water and sewerage. It is also authorize to build roads within Nagar Panchayat limits and impose taxes on properties coming under its jurisdiction.

Sugauli has great role in India's independence war. Sugauli is the part of SATYAGRAHA movement what GANDHI JI has started from the Champaran, and that movement inspired a lot of youth at that time to contribute for the nation and few of them were Janardan Pandey and Lalbabu Mishra from Sugauli, Laxmi Narayan Jha, Upendra Jha, Ramesh Chandra Jha, Sukham Mishra from Phulwaria. Sugauli is also known for Sugauli Treaty, which was signed between British India and Nepal in March 1816.

Sugauli is connected by road to Motihari, Bettiah and Raxaul towns. It has a railway station on the Gorakhpur-Narkatiaganj-Muzaffarpur railway line. 

There are many villages around 100 in Sugauli block. some of important villages are as follows: Chhapwa: It connects Motihari with Bettiah via NH 28, Sugaon : Earlier it was a capital of Tirhut region (as per Gazetteer),Bhathan, Phulwaria, Panjiyarwa, Karmwa and many small villages.

There are 16 Gram Panchayats in sugauli block.

  • Phulwaria
  • North Sugaon
  • South Sugaon
  • North Sripur
  • South Sripur
  • Bhataha
  • Bhargawan
  • North Chhapra Bahas
  • South Chhapra Bahas
  • Sukul Pakar
  • North Mansingha
  • South Mansingha
  • Mali
  • Panjiyarwa
  • Baghi
  • Karmawa Raghunathpur